Bowie Croisant Ceramic Artist Weblog

November 24, 2010

Guldagergaard… part 3: Skaelskor, Work!

Filed under: Uncategorized — bowie croisant @ 5:29 am

I have been living in Skaelskor for several weeks, working hard and eating lots of fish.

Here are some pics from around Skaelskor and Guldagergaard.

This is the house for the artists in residence during their stay at Guldagergaard!

This is the studio!  Right now only the first floor is actively used, but in the next two years the building will be upgraded, adding additional facilities upstairs, including 3D scanner, CNC Mill and 3D Printer!  I will have to come back!

Shortly after arriving at Guldagergaard the Project Network participants received a lecture and short workshop from UK artsit Paul Scott.  Paul gave us lots of great information and showed some really easy ways to print on ceramic.

I learned a wonderful new technique for making molds quickly and efficiently:  the crack mold!  I can’t wait to teach a mold making/casting class at the new Red Star so I can share what I learned!

My first crack mold was of this found glass object from the local second hand store.  What a great ready-made form!

Here is the prototype for a vessel I have been working with.  The form was inspired by some roof/skyline contours from photographs I took while in Copenhagen.  The forms were then cut using a ban saw and by hand.

I did some sketching using revolutions of the contours to generate vessel forms.  For the piece I moved forward with I used extrusions to create my object.

Here is one of the first castings of my object.  I can’t wait to see them wood/soda fired!  I will also likely fire some with some simple transparent glaze and work on the surface using some of the transfer techniques learned from Paul Scott.

I have been working quite a lot with these pyramid forms.  I was fortunate to find several candle holders just before leaving Copenhagen that were almost identical to a form that I had in mind to work with.  The oppportunity presented itself and viola!

This was an early assemblage of the shapes playing with cutting to various scales.  They have progressed to include turning.  The result is much more dynamic.  After firing I plan to weld together stands for these objects.  This will put them up into space, adding to their sense of movement and creating a solution for my investigation into alternative(non-traditional-pedestal) display methods.

This is a sketch of the original manner in which I had thought to work with these pyramidal forms.  I plan to explore the use of mason stains in my casting body to create a gradation across the transitioning forms.

These next images are of work from Flemming Tvede Hansen, who just completed PhD research on experimental use of digital media in ceramic.

This is a slipcast piece depicting splash patterns created using Real Flow software to simulate waves.

Here is a 3D printed piece (plastic) created from Flemming’s investigation of material driven form giving.  The form was created using a motion sensing remote, combined with a program that creates geometries based on the speed of the movement tracked by the remote.

I will definitely discuss Flemming’s work more in the future.  His work will absolutely be discussed in my upcoming lecture at NCECA:  Digital Design and Ceramic Art.

Sunset at Skaelskor Harbor.  Beautiful.

This time tomorrow I will be cooking a 26lb turkey in a kiln!  More pics very soon!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

